Firewire mod possible?

Discussion in 'Modding and Customization' started by judeh101, Oct 29, 2008.

1. judeh101

judeh101

hey guys, is it possible to solder firewire (IEEE 1394) onto one of the blank usb headers on the motherboard?
    I happen to do quite a bit of video editing, but sometimes, I need to use cameras with IEEE 1394.
    if people have ideas, that would be great!

judeh101, Oct 29, 2008
  2. judeh101

ronaldf

IEEE 1394 is a different interface than USB. It would require a 1394 card which means a major hack in the ONE. I've done some editing (Sony Vegas) and I don't think a 9" screen would be very useful. If you want to do editing on a portable, you should be looking at a dual core laptop with at least a 15" screen and preferable a 17" screen. I'm no expert, just my opinion.

ronaldf, Oct 29, 2008
  3. judeh101

adrianaitken

adrianaitken, Oct 29, 2008
  4. judeh101

judeh101

yeah, I have to physically solder a daughterboard onto the mainboard, and then I have to shave out a hole for firewire, which will be hard, and challenging.
    I know that firewire and usb uses different speed, firewire uses 400Mbps, USB 2.0 uses 480Mbps.

judeh101, Oct 29, 2008
  5. judeh101

zeusenergy

USB 2.0 is theoretical 480mbps, while firewire comes close to the claimed 400 mpbs. I think there would be a slowdown of the firewire overall, from overhead and also from the limitations of USB 2.0. Otherwise it would work. But having to carry a cable to go to whatever external device you are using it with negates the need for integrating the adapter in the first place. Just get the adapter and use it externally.

zeusenergy, Oct 29, 2008
  6. judeh101

tetsujin