F10 & XP Dual Boot Install Help Required.

Discussion in 'Linux' started by 4GibMe, Mar 29, 2009.

1. 4GibMe

4GibMe

First, I'm a total Linux newbie.

Ok, I'll try to keep a l long story short.
    I got a Aspire one 10inch, not to long ago to run my little one man show business on the road. I have been a Windows user for years, and I am looking for something better. I have done, I don't know how many different USBlive's with different Distros, I have lost count. I have come down to two, Linux Mint, and Fedora, both in Gnome, not a fan of KDE. For reasons unknown, Fedora has my interest more then Mint, so I feel it's install time.

So here is what I am looking to do.
    While I go through the learning curve, and get programs that I need working under Wine, or find alternatives that are Linux based, I still need to run XP. I can't have any down time. I need a dual boot. On my first attempt to install Fedora, I came to the part of the install were you setup partitions, and file type. I figured out how to set how much space I wanted, but it gave me no indication what it was going to do to the XP and it's installed programs. Meaning, without care would it wipe out portions there of. I have tried going to theirs site and looked at their how to, but it seems to go on, and on, about stuff that I am not interested in yet, and that is quite techie deep in the requirements of understanding.

I guess I am asking for help on how to setup a dual boot install of F10 and XP that is done right, without damaging what's there now.

thanks

4GibMe.

4GibMe, Mar 29, 2009
  2. 4GibMe

RockDoctor