External Hard Drive

Discussion in 'Linux' started by JonMackenzie, Jan 8, 2009.

1. JonMackenzie

JonMackenzie

I'm new to Linux:

I have an AA1 and also another laptop. I bought an external hard drive so that I can use it between both laptops. However, I'm not sure how I can access the hard drive through my AA1 - I plug it in and nothing seems to happen. I don't know enough about Linux to know how to find it to access it.

JonMackenzie, Jan 8, 2009
  2. JonMackenzie

whyay

Wait for a few minutes before the disk is recognized. Is it compatible with linux? You can check this in the manual to your external HDD. What file system does it have? Is it formatted already? Some external HDD are not for linux, they even can have software recorded, for Vista or XP. I would recommend a disk without software preinstalled, compatible with both Windows and Linux (they have fat32 file system, which is compatible with both windows and linux). These are, for example, fujitsu handydrives (they are preformatted with fat32 and have tools for formatting as fat32).

whyay, Jan 8, 2009
  3. JonMackenzie

solpuerto

Hi Jon

If you open up Files you should see the Folders on your AA1. You will also see File, Edit, View etc. at the top. Select View, then select Side Pane and then tick Tree. This should produce a list of what is connected to the One, a bit like the file structure that appears when you do a Windows Explore.
    If you then connect the HD and as said above wait a couple of seconds, if the drive is recognised it will show in the list.
    I do not have an external hard drive but if I connect an SD card or USB stick it is displayed in this list. I am then able to Copy/Paste etc.

Best wishes

solpuerto, Jan 8, 2009
  4. JonMackenzie

Frits

Hello,
    i also have a external hard drive, a LaCie 320Gb.
    It is formatted as NTFS, and in the Live Updates is a update to read(only read) NTFS.