Everything Wifi (including USB) for OSX

Discussion in 'MacOS' started by camberwell, Jul 22, 2008.

1. camberwell

camberwell

Alternative WiFi cards

Hi, I am quite new to this, and this forum. :) However i am very interested in getting an aspire one to run osx.

I understand there is no current drivers for the built in wifi, however i have read that the Aspire one has an additional free mini PCI slot.

Would it be possible to but an alternative one and fit it in the spare slot to make this work?

I heard the Dell DW 1490 for example is cheap and works with osx natively.

Thanks

camberwell, Jul 22, 2008
  2. camberwell

lotus49

Re: Alternative WiFi cards

You could replace the existing card rather than adding into the empty slot.

I know that any RT2500 card will work but if you want an internal one, I suggest you try asking on osx86project.org. Someone there will almost certainly know.

If you do get any good suggestions, can you report back here?

lotus49, Jul 22, 2008
  3. camberwell

webdude12

There are drivers for the card that comes in the wind. The problems with the wifi not working has to deal with Acer's Bios and its interaction with the PCI bus. So just replacing the card say with one of the Dell cards that everyone is using on the MSI Wind, still will not work.

We are going to have to find the correct fix for the bios.

webdude12, Jul 23, 2008
  4. camberwell

amf5

Do you have a source for this, or are you just guessing?

amf5, Jul 24, 2008
  5. camberwell

webdude12

I have personally loaded OSX on the 8GB SSD, and done some testing. The card is there, just no option to to turn it on and off, because of the PCI bus doesnt report the card type. If you read at insanelymac, you will see that the included card is fully supported with the latest apple updates. Also, more reading will show that Acer Bios take some tweaking to make the PCI and PCI-E buses fully work.