Error while trying to install Maple 12

Discussion in 'Linux' started by lothar, Sep 13, 2008.

1. lothar

lothar

Hi.

I am very new to linux so i'll do this explanation carefully.

I'm trying to install Maple 12, a math program i need for my studies. I burned it's iso on a cd and accessed it with usb cd drive. Then in the terminal i log in as root and do the following:

cd /media/MAPLE12/
    ./installMapleLinux

It starts then to extract and unpack for a minute, then launch' the installer, only to break right after with a (nasty?) error message. It all looks like this:

---

Preparing to install...
    WARNING: /tmp does not have enough disk space!
    Attempting to use /root for install base and tmp dir.
    Extracting the JRE from the installer archive...
    Unpacking the JRE...
    Extracting the installation ressources from the installer archive...
    Configuring the installer for this system's environment...

Launching installer...

java: xcb_xlib.c:50: xcb_xlib_unlock: Assertion `c->xlib.lock' failed.
    ./installMapleLinux: line 50: 28932 Aborted sh ./Maple12Linux32Installer.bin

---

I have google'd the "java: xcb_xlib.c:50: xcb_xlib_unlock: Assertion `c->xlib.lock' failed." line, only to find that there's apparently some issues with the java environment. I've tried various fixes but nothing seems to do the trick. One fix was to type this:

export LIBXCB_ALLOW_SLOPPY_LOCK=1; ./installMapleLinux

.. but with the same result as above. Another result was a sed-fix, where i did:

find /usr -name 'libmawt*'

.. to find the path to the files (i found 2 files), then typed this:

sed -i 's/XINERAMA/FAKEEXTN/g' /usr/lib/jvm/java.1.7.0.icedtea-1.7.0.0/jre/lib/i386/headless/libmawt.so
    sed -i 's/XINERAMA/FAKEEXTN/g' /usr/lib/jvm/java.1.7.0.icedtea-1.7.0.0/jre/lib/i386/xawt/libmawt.so