Email Client

Discussion in 'Linux' started by fernzaty, Mar 22, 2009.

1. fernzaty

fernzaty

I can't say I'm loving the email client that comes as standard. Are there any alternatives available, and if yes, how would I go about installing one?

fernzaty, Mar 22, 2009
  2. fernzaty

barrie

Hi fernzaty,

Why not use Thunderbird ;) , go to add and remove programs > applications > graphical internet, scroll down the list to Thunderbird and check the box on the left and install the package, thats it done.

barrie, Mar 23, 2009
  3. fernzaty

fernzaty

Barrie, did it, got it, loving it already. Thanks for the heads up.

fernzaty, Mar 23, 2009
  4. fernzaty

barrie

You are welcome :)

barrie, Mar 24, 2009
  5. fernzaty

freddie

Hi barrie. Afraid I'm a newbie - only just got my Acer Aspire - but having escaped the clutches of Microsoft I find myself stumbling blindly round Linux !

I use Thunderbird and would love to transfer it over (if only to access my address book), but I fall at the first hurdle
    - how do I 'go to add and remove programs > applications etc...' ?
    - I can't seem to get there from my desktop!

freddie, Mar 26, 2009
  6. fernzaty

barrie

Hi freddie,

The first thing to do and make your life easier is enable the right click option so do the following.

1.Click My Documents then when the window opens select >file.

2.From the drop down menu select terminal.

3.Now enter this xfce-setting-show and press enter.

4.A new window will open so select and click the desktop Icon.

5.Click the behaviour tab here you will see two boxes.

6.Check the box next to Show desktop menu on right click.

Now close all windows and return to the desktop then right click somewhere, this should now give you an extended desktop menu which you will see contains more options that the interface you have at present, now reboot.

Now you have done this right click the desktop and select system > add / remove software as my post above.

barrie, Mar 26, 2009
  7. fernzaty