dual monitors

Discussion in 'Linux' started by kyro, May 22, 2009.

  1. kyro

    kyro

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi,

    i tried searching for this because im sure I read something about it on here. I tried to connect my A150 running ubuntu netbook remix to a a second monitor but when I do so parts of both screens become inaccessible (parts not displaying, parts that do display the mouse cant reach etc). I've tried pretty much all the different configurations of resolution but I can't seem to figure out how to get a nice and simple dual monitor setup in 16:9.

    thanks.
     
    kyro, May 22, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. kyro

    fweigel

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can't answer for ubuntu, but for linpus:

    edit /etc/X11/xorg.conf (with "sudo mousepad")

    Change to: Virtual 2048 1024
    Change to: Modes "1024x600" "1280x1024" "1024x760" "800x600" "640x480"

    Restart the computer

    To use single screen: xrandr --output LVDS --mode 1024x600 --output VGA off
    To use dual screen: xrandr --output VGA --mode 1024x768 --left-of LVDS --auto

    Change left to right, and pick your size.
     
    fweigel, May 23, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. kyro

    viva

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Switzerland
    This is not necessary for Ubuntu. I had dual monitors in 8.10 as well as in 9.04. It works out of the box. But keep in mind that the VGA port is not hot pluggable. Turn the computer off, connect the second display an turn it on again. It might work without doing this, but it could harm the computer's hardware. Use the system control panel to tune the dual display options.
     
    viva, May 23, 2009
    #3
  4. kyro

    fweigel

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    VGA not hot-pluggable? Um... yes it is.

    But -- you may be correct in mode detection (but I haven't as yet had problems with that). Note that the ""Virtual" statement controls the maximum desktop size, and prevents the "inaccessible area" problem seen by the original poster. It may be the case that ubuntu does this at startup, thus giving the impression that VGA hotplug doesn't work.

    Not being an ubuntu user, I can't comment further. I hotplug with linpus between (at least) two external monitors and a projector. However, it is't explicitly supported (desktop extending across monitors, or independent monitors) by acer.
     
    fweigel, May 24, 2009
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.