Disable d2d in BIOS setup

Discussion in 'Linux' started by martipe, Jan 16, 2009.

  1. martipe

    martipe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi, I would like to change from Linpus to XP and read in a couple of articles, that bevor doing so, it is recommended to disable the d2d option in the BIOS setpup. for one reason or another, I can not change that option in the BIOS setup (F2). the line for that option is shown in grey, and I can not move to it and toggle between "enable" and "disable". Anybody know how to access this setting?? thanks
     
    martipe, Jan 16, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. martipe

    kapinouwi

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    france
    what is your bios number???
     
    kapinouwi, Jan 16, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. martipe

    martipe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    it says v0.3109 in the F2 setup display
     
    martipe, Jan 16, 2009
    #3
  4. martipe

    nocturne1

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    Did you hit enter?
     
    nocturne1, Jan 16, 2009
    #4
  5. martipe

    martipe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    when should I press ENTER? I pressed F2 during startup, then the BIOS setup menu showed up with several tabs (MAIN, SECURITY, BOOT ORDER, etc.), On MAIN, it shows the line "D2D Recover [enable]

    here, as I assume, one should be able to toggle between enable and disable mode, but it is not possible go to this line!! the line is only show in grey....
     
    martipe, Jan 18, 2009
    #5
  6. martipe

    nocturne1

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    Sorry, I thought you could select it, but couldn't toggle it. The bios menu has a change setting key listed, but from what I remember for that option, you had to hit enter when it's highlighted to pop up a new menu.

    If you aren't able to select it.... you might want to reset to bios defaults, then try to change it again.
     
    nocturne1, Jan 20, 2009
    #6
  7. martipe

    martipe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi, thanks for your comments, but how would I ""to reset to bios defaults"" do this? flash the bios?? (sorry, am not a pc genius..)
     
    martipe, Jan 21, 2009
    #7
  8. martipe

    nocturne1

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    Uhhh.... I don't have my system here, but if I remember right, when you hit the Esc key (or whatever it says) to exit the BIOS, you can choose an option from the menu to reset to system defaults.
     
    nocturne1, Jan 21, 2009
    #8
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. kdl
    Replies:
    15
    Views:
    3,662
    Daijoubu
    Sep 9, 2008
  2. cdmoore74
    Replies:
    14
    Views:
    11,667
    bigsee
    May 18, 2009
  3. ScottZ

    D2D Recovery question

    ScottZ, Dec 20, 2008, in forum: Windows
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    1,131
    goapy
    Jan 2, 2009
  4. ohlittlecourt
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    871
    nmesisca
    Dec 23, 2008
  5. Rooster#1

    WTF IS D2D ????

    Rooster#1, Jan 28, 2009, in forum: Windows
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    882
  6. db Nightmare qp

    I cant restore whit d2d

    db Nightmare qp, Apr 10, 2009, in forum: Acer Aspire One
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    440
    barrie
    Apr 13, 2009
  7. lucy1way

    BIOS login enabled, disable lockeds help please

    lucy1way, Jan 16, 2012, in forum: Modding and Customization
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,252
    Swarvey
    Jan 17, 2012
  8. payton4610

    I cant open up my brothers bios setup,

    payton4610, Feb 24, 2012, in forum: Windows
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    433
    payton4610
    Feb 24, 2012
Loading...