Developing An App

Discussion in 'Android' started by sparkster, Jun 18, 2016.

1. sparkster

sparkster

Has anyone here actually managed to develop an Android app and the publish it to the Google Play store? If so, was it worth the effort? I'm not that good at software development, I don't have the time to put into learning it too deeply, but a while ago I did put together a few basic Android apps and tested them out on the SlideMe store (it's free instead of having to pay $25 to sign up as a developer). They didn't perform too bad and made a bit of money in revenue. Not enough to make me rich though.

sparkster, Jun 18, 2016
  2. sparkster

IBMPC8088

Yeah, I have. I did 2 before (one was transfered in ownership to the person who bought it). It was worth it to do. It's a one-time fee for Google and you can upload and add new apps whenever you like.

I considered Amazon and a few other places too, but Google Play has been decent with getting android apps published and out there for people. It is a little of a stickler on making sure that your photos are the right size for screenshots and thumbnails, and a few other small things, but overall it's worth it.

I haven't tried SlideMe before or heard of it until now.

IBMPC8088, Jun 18, 2016
  3. sparkster

sparkster

SlideMe do claim that they were around before Google Play/Android Market and that they were the original Android app market! I don't know if that's true or not but publishing apps there was particularly easy. You can either give them away free and use mobile advertising or sell them (or both). I think they are a French company. I think the market has become too saturated lately though.

sparkster, Jun 18, 2016
    IBMPC8088 likes this.
  4. sparkster

Fuzyon