Desktop Search Bar

Discussion in 'Modding and Customization' started by che2269, Sep 8, 2008.

1. che2269

che2269

how to make disappear the desktop search bar from the desktop?
    (i am new to linux, full explanation please?)
    thanks!!

che2269, Sep 8, 2008
  2. che2269

lotus49

Press alt+F2, a window should pop, up. Enter
    Code:
    killall acer-search-desktop
    and press return, that does it for me.

lotus49, Sep 8, 2008
  3. che2269

Spyder

Do you have to do that every time you boot up or is that just a one shot go? I removed it from my add/remove software and still the thing comes back.

Spyder, Sep 8, 2008
  4. che2269

rbil

The search bar gets started each time you boot your computer by running a script that is located in:

/usr/share/search-bar/

The script is called: start-search_bar.sh

If you want you can comment out every line in that script and the search bar will no longer be launched at startup.

First let's backup the file, just in case:

cd /usr/share/search-bar/
    sudo cp start-search_bar.sh start-search_bar.sh.backup

Now let's edit the script file by placing a comment character at the start of every line that doesn't already have one (#):

sudo mousepad start-search_bar.sh

Save the file and restart your computer. You should no longer have the search bar loaded.

Cheers.

rbil, Sep 10, 2008
  5. che2269

Motoko.A150L

Here's a more elegant way of disabling the desktop search bar.

Rather than attacking the search bar script and making it do nothing, why not just prevent the script from being called on in the first place? Here's how...

1) Startup a terminal (ALT-F2 , leave input box empty, tick "Run in terminal" and press run)

2) Enter this in the terminal window -> sudo mousepad /etc/xdg/xfce4-session/xfce4-session.rc

3) Find the line that says -> Client3_Command=/usr/share/search-bar/start-search_bar.sh

4) Place a # in front of it to comment it out.

5) Reboot and the search bar disappears ;)

Motoko.A150L, Sep 18, 2008