deleting files with read only permission

Discussion in 'Acer Aspire One' started by Mash, Aug 17, 2008.

1. Mash

Mash

Hi,
    I am new to linux.
    I managed to install the programs I like. (thunderbird vlc etc) and I searched the forum on my problem but i could not find anything.

My only problem is: that after I upgraded my internal memory using the storage expansion (8GB SD)and put some video files and mp3 files from my external hdd on my One. I removed the expansion storage by mistake and when i put it back they dont show. So i figured from the small diagram that appears when you click on expand my storage that either I should put the disk in the 5in1 slot and an other sd disk in storage expansion but this is not an option because I only have one sd card. now if i would delete the files on my sd I could expend the storage again. But how to format? deleting the files seemed the best option so I tried to delete a file and I get an error message that i do not have the permission to delete read only files.

I tried in the terminal using the "rm" command but this is my answer:
    [root@localhost Videos]# rm Species....1717alan..avi
    rm: cannot remove `Species....1717alan..avi': Read-only file system.

so that does not work.
    I would be very happy if someone could help me.
    Mash

Mash, Aug 17, 2008
  2. Mash

Ace_Rimmer

Mash --

Give this a try -- press Alt - F2 and in the box enter the following:

sudo thunar

DON'T check "run in terminal."

Now you will have the file manager, but with root (superuser) privileges, and you can delete anything you want.

BE VERY CAREFUL BECAUSE YOU ARE NOW USING A "WEAPON OF MASS DESTRUCTION"! You can delete anything you want, but you can also delete anything you don't want to delete, too.

Please let us know if you need more help beyond this.

Ace_Rimmer, Aug 17, 2008
  3. Mash

retsaw