Connect to internet through USB Windows Mobile device

Discussion in 'Networking' started by vzmr82, Jul 18, 2008.

  1. vzmr82

    SuzuKube

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello i have found a way to contourn the problem

    But i don't know how we make that.... Ideas?

    I am doing a tutorial here : http://www.blogeee.net/forum/viewtopic. ... 082#p72082 because i can't post it on aspireoneuser it show me a 404 error :|
     
    SuzuKube, Aug 24, 2008
    #21
  2. vzmr82

    SuzuKube

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Solved.

    To many problem in linpus. Installed Ubuntu 8.04.1. No issue.

    Thanks all :)
     
    SuzuKube, Aug 26, 2008
    #22
  3. vzmr82

    sbessel

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would be interested in seeing this working with Limpus as well... I really have no interest in Umbutu.


    Thanks,

    Scott
     
    sbessel, Aug 31, 2008
    #23
  4. vzmr82

    SuzuKube

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried to recompile the kernel to have enable rndis devices but it failed :) I had no sound and network manager take longtime to appear on the desktop :/ No solutions for me... The DKMS solution does'nt work at all.... So Ubuntu or nothing :) But i'm not a linux geek ;)
     
    SuzuKube, Aug 31, 2008
    #24
  5. vzmr82

    crispian

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I spent most of the day today trying to get my Sprint ppc6700 to connect as a usb modem with Linpus- something I've done with all my other laptops (Kubuntu, Ubuntu, Mepis, Debian) but found that the lack of the ipaq module left me stymied.

    BUT, thanks to this forum I was pointed in the direction of WMWiFiRouter, which is actually cooler (no wires and the phone stays on my belt) and works like a charm! Start up WMWiFiRouter on my phone, run a quick script to switch to ad-hoc & connect, and surf. And then run another script to end ad-hoc, turn off & on the wireless switch on the AA1 and it's back to normal- no muss no fuss.

    Here are my scripts if anyone's interested:

    adhoc.sh
    Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    /etc/rc.d/init.d/NetworkManager stop
    ifconfig ath0 down
    wlanconfig ath0 destroy
    wlanconfig ath0 create wlandev wifi0 wlanmode ad-hoc
    iwconfig ath0 channel auto
    iwconfig ath0 essid ppc6700
    ifconfig ath0 up
    dhclient ath0
    
    # change "ppc6700" in the above to match your SSID in WMWiFiRouter.

    adhoc-stop.sh
    Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    ifconfig ath0 down
    wlanconfig ath0 destroy
    wlanconfig ath0 create wlandev wifi0 wlanmode managed
    ifconfig ath0 up
    /etc/rc.d/init.d/NetworkManager start
    
    Many, many thanks to all those who contributed to this thread (and this one)!
     
    crispian, Sep 1, 2008
    #25
  6. vzmr82

    sbessel

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    I still am *very* interested in seeing this solved, and I don't have a WIFI phone, so that is not an option.

    I am close with the usb-rndis-lite stuff, and I am sure a Linux person could figure it out...

    Scott
     
    sbessel, Sep 5, 2008
    #26
  7. vzmr82

    SuzuKube

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Install Ubuntu? It was my solution lol

    But now i live without 3G on linpus... That's all. The Wifi solution doesnt work on my Qtek s200, i don't know why, there is no connection between linpus and my phone...
     
    SuzuKube, Sep 10, 2008
    #27
  8. vzmr82

    dj_steve

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    i got the compile to continue further - if you run the following you'll fix the fixdep permission issue

    Code:
    cd /usr/src/linux*
    chmod -Rvv 755 *
    
    run the above as root (by using sudo or su to login as root)

    i now get
    Code:
    [root@localhost usb-rndis-lite]# make
    make -C /lib/modules/2.6.23.9lw/build SUBDIRS=/home/user/usb-rndis-lite modules
    make[1]: Entering directory `/usr/src/linux-2.6.23.9'
      CC [M]  /home/user/usb-rndis-lite/usbnet.o
      CC [M]  /home/user/usb-rndis-lite/cdc_ether.o
    /home/user/usb-rndis-lite/cdc_ether.c: In function ‘usbnet_generic_cdc_bind’:
    /home/user/usb-rndis-lite/cdc_ether.c:113: error: implicit declaration of function ‘is_wireless’
    make[2]: *** [/home/user/usb-rndis-lite/cdc_ether.o] Error 1
    make[1]: *** [_module_/home/user/usb-rndis-lite] Error 2
    make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/linux-2.6.23.9'
    make: *** [default] Error 2
    
     
    dj_steve, Sep 14, 2008
    #28
  9. vzmr82

    dj_steve

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    i got it to compile and it works :) just gotta get my AAO to get dns info, proof of this working is below


    Code:
    dmesg output:
    
    usb 2-1: new full speed USB device using uhci_hcd and address 4
    usb 2-1: configuration #1 chosen from 1 choice
    usbcore: registered new interface driver cdc_ether
    
    ifconfig picks this up as soon as ics is active on my phone (HTC TyTn II) - acers network manager also shows a wired connection coming up at the same time :)
    Code:
    rndis0    Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 80:00:60:0F:E8:00  
              inet addr:192.168.0.47  Bcast:192.168.0.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:8050  Metric:1
              RX packets:12 errors:10 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:8 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:1665 (1.6 KiB)  TX bytes:1454 (1.4 KiB)
    
    ok now for how i did it

    yes i had to rebuild my kernel. but i used the standard settings mostly with minor edits, i am going to upload the kernel source as it stands at the moment shortly and post a link, then you will just have to run the following commands from within the usb-rndis-lite folder

    Code:
    make
    sudo ./clean.sh
    sudo make install
    
    ok kernel is up at http://www.aa1blog.net/kernel.tbz2
     
    dj_steve, Sep 14, 2008
    #29
  10. vzmr82

    Andysan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Steve,

    Firstly, thanks for taking the time to help us out. Having downloaded your custom source and extracting it to /usr/src/, i run your commands to a tee inside usb-rndis-lite, but get the following error on the install:

    Code:
    [root@localhost user]# cd usb-rndis-lite
    [root@localhost usb-rndis-lite]# make
    make -C /lib/modules/2.6.23.9lw/build SUBDIRS=/home/user/usb-rndis-lite modules
    make[1]: Entering directory `/usr/src/linux-2.6.23.9'
      CC [M]  /home/user/usb-rndis-lite/usbnet.o
      CC [M]  /home/user/usb-rndis-lite/cdc_ether.o
      CC [M]  /home/user/usb-rndis-lite/rndis_host.o
      Building modules, stage 2.
      MODPOST 3 modules
      CC      /home/user/usb-rndis-lite/cdc_ether.mod.o
      LD [M]  /home/user/usb-rndis-lite/cdc_ether.ko
      CC      /home/user/usb-rndis-lite/rndis_host.mod.o
      LD [M]  /home/user/usb-rndis-lite/rndis_host.ko
      CC      /home/user/usb-rndis-lite/usbnet.mod.o
      LD [M]  /home/user/usb-rndis-lite/usbnet.ko
    make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/linux-2.6.23.9'
    [root@localhost usb-rndis-lite]# sudo ./clean.sh
    audit_log_user_command(): Connection refused
    ./clean.sh: line 6: depmod: command not found
    make -C /lib/modules/2.6.23.9lw/build SUBDIRS=/home/user/usb-rndis-lite modules
    make[1]: Entering directory `/usr/src/linux-2.6.23.9'
      Building modules, stage 2.
      MODPOST 3 modules
    make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/linux-2.6.23.9'
    Done! :)
    [root@loct@localhost usb-rndis-lite]# sudo make install
    audit_log_user_command(): Connection refused
    make -C /lib/modules/2.6.23.9lw/build SUBDIRS=/home/user/usb-rndis-lite modules_install
    make[1]: Entering directory `/usr/src/linux-2.6.23.9'
      INSTALL /home/user/usb-rndis-lite/cdc_ether.ko
      INSTALL /home/user/usb-rndis-lite/rndis_host.ko
      INSTALL /home/user/usb-rndis-lite/usbnet.ko
      DEPMOD  2.6.23.9lw
    make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/linux-2.6.23.9'
    depmod -ae
    make: depmod: Command not found
    make: *** [install] Error 127alhost usb-rndis-lite]# sudo make install
    audit_log_user_command(): Connection refused
    make -C /lib/modules/2.6.23.9lw/build SUBDIRS=/home/user/usb-rndis-lite modules_install
    make[1]: Entering directory `/usr/src/linux-2.6.23.9'
      INSTALL /home/user/usb-rndis-lite/cdc_ether.ko
      INSTALL /home/user/usb-rndis-lite/rndis_host.ko
      INSTALL /home/user/usb-rndis-lite/usbnet.ko
      DEPMOD  2.6.23.9lw
    make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/linux-2.6.23.9'
    depmod -ae
    make: depmod: Command not found
    make: *** [install] Error 127
    
    Do you have any ideas please - I'm so agonizingly close!!!
     
    Andysan, Sep 17, 2008
    #30
  11. vzmr82

    dj_steve

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    make sure you have the automake autoconf make gcc kernel-headers and kernel-devel installed i beleive it is, if you have feel free to pm me and ill help out, - ill post back with my installed packages shortly from my aao

    EDIT: http://www.dmpwap.net/yumlist.txt thats the full list of all the installed packages on my AAO at the moment, id concentrate on the make/gcc/kernel packages - also if you can run
    Code:
    find / | grep sbin/depmod
    as root - it should find /sbin/depmod as a line


    EDIT 2 : i forgot to mention i have tested this properly now and it works PERFECTLY for internet access - that is all that can be done at the moment though nothing more,
     
    dj_steve, Sep 17, 2008
    #31
  12. vzmr82

    AspireOneChris

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    dj steve - any chance you can give us dummies (new linux users) a step by step guide on exactly what to do and where to find it. i would be really greatful as this will be a great benefit to me as all i want is internet access on my htc 3300, and all future viewers of this forum. much appreciated for any help with this
     
    AspireOneChris, Sep 18, 2008
    #32
  13. vzmr82

    dj_steve

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    once ive had conffirmation from some people tthat it works i shall create a guide
     
    dj_steve, Sep 18, 2008
    #33
  14. vzmr82

    AspireOneChris

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok ta much antispated and appreciated
     
    AspireOneChris, Sep 18, 2008
    #34
  15. vzmr82

    dj_steve

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    right since i cant post the howto here (kicks me out with a 404 page not found error) ive made a basic webpage with the details :)

    links http://www.aa1blog.net
     
    dj_steve, Sep 19, 2008
    #35
  16. vzmr82

    AspireOneChris

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Great thank you so much dj_steve all up and running only problem insight was the internetsharing.cab which my phone spat out and i had to get a new one from here http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=321393 couldnt find one anywhere else that worked. everything else was smooth sailing ,I am posting this using my phones internet, cant thank you enough :D
     
    AspireOneChris, Sep 21, 2008
    #36
  17. vzmr82

    dj_steve

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    not a problem, am glad my linux skils arnt totally useless :)
     
    dj_steve, Sep 22, 2008
    #37
  18. vzmr82

    SuzuKube

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks :) It work for me :)

    I will update my post on my Blog for how to WM6 internet sharing working ;)

    Thanks a lot!

    I have an other issue : Bad sound quality on my 5.1.... On Ubuntu Sound quality is better than Linpus :/ So i had reinstalled Ubuntu :shock:
     
    SuzuKube, Sep 22, 2008
    #38
  19. vzmr82

    dj_steve

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    check your sound drivers are updated, seems acer/linpus uses years old modules for everything
     
    dj_steve, Sep 22, 2008
    #39
  20. vzmr82

    two_wheels

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Another thanks here to dj_steve, this solution worked great!
     
    two_wheels, Sep 26, 2008
    #40
Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.