[Common question] What OS?

Discussion in 'Linux' started by Snowers, Dec 30, 2008.

1. Snowers

Snowers

Hi

You've probably been asked this a million times already, but i'm gonna give it a go anyway.

I love my AA1, but as a student i need a little more than what linpus can offer. Even after hacking it, it seems to lack quite a bit of core functionality (i couldnt compile, no ssh, etc etc) that there probably are fixes for (i installed openSSH), but its too much work going around it.

So i went hunting for another linux version, starting with Ubuntu 8.04. It worked decent, but slower startup time and unstable wireless broke it for me. Went to fedora 9, with about the same issues. October came with Ubuntu 8.10, and it started looking like something. But it felt a bit too slow, and suspend didnt work. Fedora 10 is the best i've tried so far, but after spending several hours finding out how to install Flash (finally found some guys repostary that i downloaded from), it got on my nerves and i installed linpus again. F10 also nerfed the wireless 50% of the times i suspended (although it had the best suspend of the ones i've tried), which simply doesnt work for me, running around on campus all the time.

So, are there any good suggestions? I have 4 requirements:
    1) It needs to be a fully functional OS (ruling out Linpus, because it lacks so much)
    2) Wifi needs to work
    3) Suspend needs to work.
    4) Wifi needs to work after suspend EVERY TIME

Thanks for any help!

EDIT: I got the SSD version. Also installed an extra gig of ram, so i got 1,5GB RAM.

Snowers, Dec 30, 2008
  2. Snowers

LinpusMad

LinpusMad, Dec 30, 2008
  3. Snowers

daldred

I've compiled stuff on mine, and have sshd available to run (I don't often use it); installing a build environemnt for compiling was one yum command, installing sshd one more.