codec video 4 linux linpus lite

Discussion in 'Linux' started by amelie72, Feb 7, 2009.

1. amelie72

amelie72

Hi there,
    I am an absolute beginner (maybe hopeless) to linux OS and I am struggling with codecs. I am using MP player for a video (avi) the sound works fine but a pop up says "cannot find codec matching selected VO and video format 0x44495658, in theory there should be basic codes, right? I tried with another player but the end result is the same, I dl some stuff but it is not working...or maybe the procedure I am trying to install is wrong, looking 4 the right string to type PLZ can anyone point me to an easy and clear direction.
    I will really appreciate yr help

Cheers

Amelia :?

amelie72, Feb 7, 2009
  2. amelie72

TTgowings

Just install VLC, and you can bypass all that.. Many posts on how to install it, just do a search.

TTgowings, Feb 7, 2009
  3. amelie72

amelie72

Hi,
    THX but I wonder since I have just 8 Gb HD if it's possible to fix sw that I arleady have on my laptop, either Mplayer or MediaMaster...I guess it's not possible or it is not easy?

Thx

Amelia

amelie72, Feb 7, 2009
  4. amelie72

amelie72

Hi installed VLC player..but as usual no video just audio...but this time no pop up tellin' me oops there somethin' wrong! Ok I get it I'm hopeless at LINUX OS!

Thx buddies 4 yr help..though

Amleia

amelie72, Feb 7, 2009
  5. amelie72

woodland

Hi Amelie,

you probably installed VLC from the Acer webesite..
    Go to Macles: http://macles.blogspot.com/2008/11/inst ... linux.html
    to install a fully working VLC.. he also gives instructions for removing the available mediaplayers

Enjoy your AA1
    Regards,
    woodland

woodland, Feb 7, 2009
  6. amelie72

amelie72

Thx Woodland,