Card readers won't recognize SDHC

Discussion in 'Linux' started by Boomer_K, Nov 18, 2008.

  1. Boomer_K

    Boomer_K

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    So far I'm really enjoying netbook remix on my AO. It looks really slick, and I've gotten pretty much everything to work properly, but the card readers refuse to recognize SDHC cards. I did the tweaks on the ubuntu page, as well as the stuff for making the readers hot swappable on the debian site. both readers will work flawlessly with a regular sd, but not with a high capacity one. I plan to leave a 16G card in the left reader for storage expansion all the time, so if anyone has any advice on this problem, it would be much appreciated.
     
    Boomer_K, Nov 18, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Boomer_K

    RockDoctor

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    I've been using 4GB SDHC cards with no problems. Which modules do you have installed (run the lsmod command in a terminal window)?
     
    RockDoctor, Nov 18, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Boomer_K

    Boomer_K

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    What should I be looking for specifically? There's 4 pages of modules.
     
    Boomer_K, Nov 18, 2008
    #3
  4. Boomer_K

    RockDoctor

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    From my Fedora install:
    Code:
    ~$ lsmod | grep mmc
    mmc_block              12676  0 
    mmc_core               43676  2 mmc_block,sdhci
    
    ~$ lsmod | grep sdhci
    sdhci_pci              10624  0 
    sdhci                  17540  1 sdhci_pci
    mmc_core               43676  2 mmc_block,sdhci
    
    ~$ lsmod | grep pciehp
    pciehp                 32280  0 
    
    The latest Fedora kernel apparently loaded all but the pciehp module automatically on boot. If the sdhci- and mmc- modules aren't loading automatically, you can run and lines in /etc/rc.local to run modprobe to install them before adding the line to load pciehp:
    Code:
    /sbin/modprobe mmc_block
    /sbin/modprobe sdhci_pci 
    /sbin/modprobe pciehp pciehp_force=1
    
    HTH
     
    RockDoctor, Nov 18, 2008
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.