Can't get right SD card reader to work in 8.04 & 8.10

Discussion in 'Linux' started by Kjeks, Oct 30, 2008.

1. Kjeks

Kjeks

I have problems getting my right SD card reader to work. I have used 8.04 for a while, and the right SD card reader have not been working even after I applied all the tweaks on Ubuntu.com's Aspire One page. Today I upgraded to 8.10, hoping the problem would be fixed, but it wasn't.

I need the SD card reader to work, as I work as a journalist and sometimes need to edit photos on my AAO.
    The left card reader works, as I have mounted my /home/ directory on a 2 GB SD card for better performance.

lspci:
    [...]
    01:00.0 System peripheral: JMicron Technologies, Inc. SD/MMC Host Controller
    04:00.0 System peripheral: JMicron Technologies, Inc. SD/MMC Host Controller
    04:00.2 SD Host controller: JMicron Technologies, Inc. Standard SD Host Controller
    [...]

/etc/fstab:
    [...]
    # /dev/mmcblk0
    UUID=2689a8f2-7015-42c6-a3bc-ade6bde509a6 /home ext3 noatime 0 2
    [...]

...and all the tweaks added from https://help.ubuntu.com/community/AspireOne

The funny thing is that the SD card reader once worked perfectly, with me being able to insert/eject cards on-the-fly in 8.04 a while ago (this was before X number of reinstallations). Now, it seams completely dead.
    The right SD card isn't detected even if I leave it in while booting.

Edit1: I have the AAO with 8 GB SSD and 1,5 GB RAM. Everything but the card reader works perfectly.
    Edit2: It also appears there's now lots of artifacts/flickering in YouTube videos. This is new after the upgrade.

Kjeks, Oct 30, 2008
  2. Kjeks

Kjeks

Just chiming in to say I fixed the problem.

I added this line to /etc/fstab, and now the card reader works perfectly:
    /dev/mmcblk1p1 /media/sd vfat users 0 0

:D

Kjeks, Oct 30, 2008
  3. Kjeks

ags

I now have both card readers working perfectly in 8.10.