Brand New AA1 - 3 questions for the pros...

Discussion in 'Linux' started by BongMong, Feb 4, 2009.

1. BongMong

BongMong

Hiya chums. I just got my first netbook, an Aspire One with 8gig SSD, 512meg ram and Linpus.

Sounds lovely, you might say, and you'd be very right. Great for trade union work on the run. But I am quite new with all this and so need a few tips from you old lags :)~

As to my starting point, I am pretty hot with computers (I can persuade them to blow up submarines for the state so I must be). I am a first time Linux user though.

Right. Now on 8 gig I don't need to install too much but there are a few tweaks I needed to do. So far:

Updated bios to latest and re-did the system with disc 1.0.15.E (latest I could get). Full Live Update carried out.

Updated to latest Firefox (keeping FF2 around to cover dependencies). Updated to latest Open Office.

Removed MPlayer and installed VLC.

Installed a 4gig SD card in the left SE slot.

Got my 3G Broadband USB stick (Vodafone UK) working well with the Mobile Partner utility.

*RIGHT* Question time - 3 wishes:

1) I wish that removing MPlayer had worked properly, it is not showing on the desktop and not ticked in the add/remove programs thingie, but it still seems to be on the desktop context menu (advanced mode) and it seems to run up from there. With the limited space on this thing, can it be removed properly?

2) I wish that the Mobile Partner utility wouldn't run up VLC the first time it is run each session. Can this be discouraged?

3) I wish that the Aspire One wouldn't pop up with two (yes, two!) SD card expansion style 'Upgrade Successful' announcement alerts, stacked one directly above the other, shortly after every boot! This takes up the whole right side of the screen. Can't this be stopped? Alright already, I know I upgraded the storage. Why does the system want to chastise me for this for ever more? Should I apologise and buy it choccies and a bunch of flowers?