Blank Spots On MB

Discussion in 'Modding and Customization' started by SpikedCola, Jun 23, 2009.

1. SpikedCola

SpikedCola

First off, Id like to thank everyone whos put together threads detailing their hacks and whatnot - they have been a wealth of information ever since I first bought my AAO.

I am a student, and Im in school to become an Electrical Engineering Technologist, so it should go without saying that I love taking things apart, figuring out how they work, and improving on them as I see fit. Needless to say, the AAO has become a fun toy to play with. 30 minutes after I purchased it I had it in pieces on my living room table. After playing around and installing Windows on it, I decided Id like to swap out the (garbage) SSD for an 80gb iPod hard drive. Ive got a new ZIF cable on the way as mine is too thick to mate with the hard drive. Next up, Ive got an MMCX -> RP-SMA adapter on the way, so I can add a slightly larger antenna to the (already great, chipset wise) built-in wireless.

However, having closely inspected the motherboard, Ive noticed some blank spots, and for me, this means things to play around with and add. I apologize for the quality of the pictures, as all I have at the moment is a camera phone. I have highlighted four things, most of which I have figured out, but it never hurts to have more info about the board, and who knows, maybe this thread will turn into a sticky detailing all the blank spots where things can be added ;).

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

1 - Mini PCIe connector - Suitable adaptor - Requires L24 to be jumpered for power - Not a complete PCIe connector (doesnt have PCI bus wires connected)
    2 - RAM Slot (512mb onboard - Max 1GB in the slot) - SO-DIMM Connector
    3 - SATA Connector (Anyone have a good shot of the pinout?) - Requires R364 to be jumpered for power
    4 - SIM Holder - Pinout - Suitable adaptor - Requres pin 2 or 5 of the IC footprint to be jumpered to pin 2 (counting from the left) of the SIM holder for power