Blackberry USB Connection

Discussion in 'Acer Aspire One' started by mkdave1955, Dec 15, 2008.

1. mkdave1955

mkdave1955

I would like to connect by a USB cable my Blackberry 8820 to my Acer One (120 gig, 512 RAM), which is running the bog standard linpus lite with the xfce 4 desktop. I only had my Acer for a week so I'm a newbie.
    When I connect the two devices, the Blackberry screen shows "USB charging current is not sufficient. .................................". In effect the device is not recognised. In Windows I can use Blackberry Desktop Manager, but Blackberry don't support linux.
    All I want to do is to connect by USB and transfer say a word processor document or spreadsheet from one device to the other so that I can create and amend work on my Acer One and then email the product to my colleagues.
    I don't want to synchronise my emails or anything else fancy. I can understand simple commands and I used to be OK at MSDOS. If we can avoid it I would rather steer clear of wholesale software changes as I want to give the lipus lite a good go before I move on to something more complicated.
    Alternatively, would it be easier to dual boot my Acer One with Windows XP and use the Blackberry software?
    Would installing the Gnome or KDE desktop help any?
    Would anybody recommend which desktop I try?
    If I didn't get on with these desktops, could I revert to the Acer desktop as it comes out of the box?
    :?:

mkdave1955, Dec 15, 2008
  2. mkdave1955

rbil

I don't own a blackberry, so not speaking from personal experience, but this blog entry suggests that it is easy to get Linux to mount a SD card installed in a blackberry.

http://www.chipbennett.net/wordpress/in ... -in-linux/

Although they refer to Ubuntu here, more than likely any Linux would have the capability once you've told the blackberry how to treat its SD card.

Cheers.

rbil, Dec 15, 2008
  3. mkdave1955

mkdave1955