Audio Recording?

Discussion in 'Acer Aspire One' started by Sanuska, Dec 21, 2008.

1. Sanuska

Sanuska

Hi.

I'm a musician and I've been looking for a small laptop to take around with me and record audio on with an external interface to USB device, and maybe edit it a bit (Nothing intensive, just play around). Would the Aspire One be able to do this without issues?

Thanks.

Sanuska, Dec 21, 2008
  2. Sanuska

dskid807

The Atom which is shared by most netbooks is not the most powerful processor in the world and can stutter quite easily at times but then it can be quite snappy. On a HDD XP version with 1gb RAM or upgraded yourself to 1.5gb would handle it in my opinion as I have seen Cubase run on hardware a lot less powerful than the One. But let's see what other users say.

dskid807, Dec 21, 2008
  3. Sanuska

Japser

On the Linpus-Acer USB-Audio is -not- installed.
    It can be made to work, but it is certainly not 'without issues'.
    --Japser.

Japser, Dec 21, 2008
  4. Sanuska

Sanuska

I intend to get an XP one, then either keep it XP or put OSX on it with a Gentoo linux dualboot via a card

And dskid, thanks for the advice, I'll keep watchin' the thread.

Sanuska, Dec 21, 2008
  5. Sanuska

trock

I just downloaded the free multitrack audio recording program Kristal from the Hitsquad site and tried some basic recording - a rhythm guitar track followed by 3 solo tracks using a USB sound card and the Acer handled it just fine. It also played back a 16 track demo file without problems.

trock, Dec 23, 2008
  6. Sanuska

sharksam

Just picked up a 110, 1gb RAM, 8GB Intel SSD. I mainly intend to use this for working on audio on long flights.

I tried out a few different apps, here are some comments:

Audio recording: B+
    For real-time monitoring, you'll need a usb interface - there is just too much latency with the integrated audio (up to ~700ms in some cases, though this may be due to me having the slower Intel SSD)

Synth / production: B+