ASPIRE ONE 522 RECOVERY HELP

Discussion in 'Windows' started by ultraman90, Mar 19, 2012.

1. ultraman90

ultraman90

I recently purchased a aspire one 522 from a private seller,the system was setup with windows 7 not sure if it was starter or ultimate but on startup the error message would pop up saying harddisk error backup or replace harddisk,I decided to format and partition then setup windows 7 again to see if it would fix the problem,i noticed that there was a partition that was set aside from oem and so i left that alone.
    After formatting i tried to access the recovery partition but there didn't seem to be an option there to recover the system and the seller didn't give me any other software with the netbook.
    I'm not an expert on these things, i need HELP ,what do i do now ??Do i need an original recovery cd to bring the system back to factory default?? :cry:

ultraman90, Mar 19, 2012
  2. ultraman90

nestone

The netbook would have come with Windows 7 Starter. If Ultimate was installed, it was done by the previous owner. On the bottom of the netbook there should be a Windows sticker listing the the "flavor" of your operating system which I suspect is Starter. You should write down the Windows 7 Starter product key. You can download the OS off the internet and make an image file burning to either a DVD to install via an external DVD player or to a USB flash drive. Upon installing the OS, you will be asked for the product code. Use the one that is on the sticker.
    You can find the download site from this previous post:
    viewtopic.php?f=70&t=32299

nestone, Mar 19, 2012
  3. ultraman90

ultraman90

I would like to say i big thanks to nestone for your reply to my problem.
    I got hold of a windows 7 iso and placed it on a usb stick,all went well with the install of windows 7 as there was a windows 7 COA on the system case .