AOA150-Ab iATKOS 7 install after many other distros

Discussion in 'MacOS' started by kosson, Sep 13, 2010.

  1. kosson

    kosson

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,
    I have to start saying that I tried most of the distros out there. I put a lot of trust in SnowyWindOSX, but every time I tried to patch it with a kext, the resolution went on 800x600 and stayed that way no matter. It was sluggish enough to make me think that a 10.5.7 will perform faster which it did. iDeneb went on fine but the same issue with the resolution after a kext install.
    So, it came to iATKOS 7 which it went on fine and producing a stable and fast install on my netbook. I tried to patch the Atheros wifi unsuccessfully (I have the fan present in the bar and is on but it is not picking anything at all no matter Kismac pushing and pulling). I will search to change the wifi card with a suitable one as Atheros is a pain in the proverbial.
    I guess I'll stick with iATKOS 7 for a while until a distro that installs everything out of the box will show up. Since I tried everything out here, I sense further development of iATKOS iDeneb and some other are stalling somehow. I mean, until now there is no good solution for this Atheros card but to change it?!
    I'm a noob with OSX and setting it on my AOA150-Ab and I would like to ask you all: is there someone who managed to have a full complete OSX set on their AOA150?

    Thanks
     
    kosson, Sep 13, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. kosson

    kosson

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Other issues:
    - Character tilde seems not to be mapped on the keyboard. I need to pull out Keyboard Viewer every time I need to type it. This is getting very annoying.
    - If I set the input menu from Internationalization to include British and some other keyboard mappings, at the next boot they do not show up anymore and I need to set them again. It is true that when I open Internationalization I do not see the lower part of the window and I might be there an OK button to confirm the changes?! But I do not know... Any ideas how I might fix that?

    P.S. I'm still waiting for my wifi card. Until then I have to look for memory.
     
    kosson, Sep 19, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. kosson

    kosson

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I kind of understand what is happening with my installation. Is not keeping the settings I make. Somewhere there is a writing issue because none of the settings I make are not kept until the next time the system boots.
    How to fix this?
     
    kosson, Sep 21, 2010
    #3
  4. kosson

    kosson

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    My machine runs stable ever since... I found a temporary sollution to the issue of loosing International settings fromone session to another and this is to boot with -f flag every time. When I boot normaly it just "forgets" the settings. Hmmm... why it does this?
    The issue with tilde is a no go still. I have to find other sollutions. Any thoughts?! Thanks
    iAtkos7 is the most stable distro I planted for testing on my AOA150!

    I have forgot to point out to this FAB resource: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=15782&p=98712&hilit=aoa150+acpi+fx#p98712

    So, until now I have lost like 2 or three weekss documenting and trials&error cycles.
    Conclusion:
    on AOA150(ZG5) iATKOS7 is the king of the distros. A real good production distro
    iDeneb runs good but is pretty unstable.
    iPC makes you hate life - at first is only milk and honey, but in the end is a time hog
    SnowyOSX is like a dream but is not for this netbook - tends to be slughish and at times unusable for this reason

    So, I will stay with this one to show other friends this curiosity ;)

    Issues to solve:
    SH card readers
    tilde mapping

    Augmentations:
    1G RAM
    DW wifi card
     
    kosson, Sep 26, 2010
    #4
  5. kosson

    kosson

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    So, things are looking good with the little one for I have put the new wifi card and 1G of RAM.
    Still to go card readers and tilde issue...
     
    kosson, Oct 2, 2010
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.