AO722 Win 7 Critical System Error

Discussion in 'Acer Aspire One' started by seacur, Jul 2, 2012.

  1. seacur

    seacur

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Since purchase I have gotten the occasional error msg on start up, something along the lines of ...

    "Windows has encountered a critical system error and needs to shut down".

    As long as it was occasional I was willing to chalk it up to "Oh well, it's just Windows being flaky"

    But it's been happening more often in recent weeks and happened twice on startup this morning.

    Does anyone have any ideas on where I should start looking for the problem? I'm not very familiar with Win 7.
     
    seacur, Jul 2, 2012
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. seacur

    Nestone50

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    7
    Copied this from another forum. Give it a go.
    First of all we need to disable the automatic restart on system failure and then we can check if the issue exists in safe mode or not.

    Method 1.
    Step 1. Disable the Automatic Restart to prevent the restarts on system failure.
    a. When your computer starts keep pressing F8 on your keyboard till you get the Advanced Boot Options screen.
    b. Now, use arrow keys, select Disable automatic restart on system failure and press Enter.

    Step 2. Start your computer in safe mode and check if you still get the error message. If it boots properly may be a third party application or a service is causing the issue. We can use 50-50 approach to narrow down the root cause of the issue.

    Refer to the article below for steps about how to start your computer in clean boot state.
    How to troubleshoot a problem by performing a clean boot in Windows Vista or in Windows 7
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/929135
    Note: When the troubleshooting is over do not forget to reset the computer to normal startup. Follow the step 7 in the above article.
    Method 2.
    [​IMG]If you suspect any virus activity I would strongly recommend you to run an online Virus Scan.
    Sometimes the installed security program might not be just enough. I also recommend you to update your security software regularly.
    a. Follow the link below to run the free online scan:
    http://onecare.live.com/site/en-us/default.htm

    b. Run the Microsoft Malicious Removal Tool.
    Microsoft Malicious Removal Tool - 32 bit
    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/...E0-E72D-4F54-9AB3-75B8EB148356&displaylang=en

    Microsoft Malicious Removal Tool - 64 bit
    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/...DE-367F-495E-94E7-6349F4EFFC74&displaylang=en


    Hope this helps.
     
    Nestone50, Jul 2, 2012
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. seacur

    seacur

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nestone50,

    Thank you, I'll give it a go in a bit. It is running right now so I'm backing up and doing other necessary chores.
     
    seacur, Jul 2, 2012
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.