Any way to mod the acer boot logo?

Discussion in 'Modding and Customization' started by phatbb, Aug 24, 2008.

  1. phatbb

    phatbb

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    just curious because I hate how it looks :D
     
    phatbb, Aug 24, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. phatbb

    danno

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sure! Go to Windows, Web, Wallpapers and rename Acer.bmp to old_Acer.bmp or something like that. Now choose your own file and name it Acer.bmp
     
    danno, Aug 26, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. phatbb

    beeng

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    ...and with linux?
     
    beeng, Aug 26, 2008
    #3
  4. phatbb

    danno

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Somewhere in Linux there will be the same file, just do a search and replace it with your own picture and rename it.
     
    danno, Aug 26, 2008
    #4
  5. phatbb

    mattvirus

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    boot logo........not wallpaper.

    I'll say "same question." Anybody know how to throw together a hacked bios with a different logo?
     
    mattvirus, Aug 26, 2008
    #5
  6. phatbb

    jukk

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've done something like this a long time ago, both the grub picture and the bootup logo in the kernel can be changed. Google is your friend :)
     
    jukk, Aug 29, 2008
    #6
  7. phatbb

    soleblaze

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just be careful. Changing boot logos involve BIOS hacking. If you do something wrong you can brick your device.
     
    soleblaze, Aug 29, 2008
    #7
  8. phatbb

    beeng

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    oh it's just grub showing the logo eh? I figured it was a bios thing.
     
    beeng, Aug 29, 2008
    #8
  9. phatbb

    jukk

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    I checked, it's not the grub picture that is shown. It might be a bootsplash picture in /boot/initrd-splash.img. Search for bootsplash.
     
    jukk, Aug 31, 2008
    #9
  10. phatbb

    SbM

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's not anywhere on your disk, since it's displayed /before/ the machine actually loads anything from the disk. It's in the bios, and from what I've read changing this picture is not for the faint of heart.
     
    SbM, Sep 1, 2008
    #10
  11. phatbb

    jukk

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you sure about this? If you are talking about the blue picture? Because this picture is also showing when the AA1 reboots and makes it's fsck after a sudden shutdown or crash. I had the impression that it does the fsck'ing while showing the picture. If this is the case, I'd rather guess it is a bootsplash thing.
     
    jukk, Sep 2, 2008
    #11
  12. phatbb

    SbM

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, I'm talking (and I think the OP was talking) of the big "Acer" logo on black screen you get when you switch the machine on.

    This:
    [​IMG]
     
    SbM, Sep 2, 2008
    #12
  13. phatbb

    Deoki

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cascais > Lisbon > Portugal > Europe
    I think he is not talking about that, neither this:

    [​IMG]

    But the blueish "Aspire One" that shows up right before the desktop.
     
    Deoki, Sep 2, 2008
    #13
  14. phatbb

    SbM

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    0
    There's no such thing on my Aspire One.
     
    SbM, Sep 2, 2008
    #14
  15. phatbb

    jukk

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah, OK. Yes, it is quite difficult to change the BIOS picture, but there are some tools out there.
     
    jukk, Sep 3, 2008
    #15
  16. phatbb

    jukk

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    The picture above is not shown default. It is the grub splash picture. And yes, I was talking about the later one.
     
    jukk, Sep 3, 2008
    #16
  17. phatbb

    Daijoubu

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    There are no tools for these Insyde BIOS yet...
     
    Daijoubu, Sep 29, 2008
    #17
  18. phatbb

    andyasselin

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Flashit from acer bios zip

    here are command lines

    if you screw up you bios don,nt blame me


    Insyde Flash Utility for InsydeH2O
    Flashit V1.2j IHISI V1.7.2

    Flashit filename [Option]

    /? , H This flash utility help
    /U Show confirm message
    /N Do not reboot after flash
    /S Shutdown after flash
    /G Save current BIOS to file (from IHISI).
    /AC Do not check AC plug in
    /AB Check battery life percent
    /MC Skip all platform model check
    /PQ Query ROM protection MAP in current ROM
    /I:String Update logo. (may need Himem.sys)
    /O:String Output file (Must use with /I)
    /LG:String GUID. Update small logo required.
    (Must use with /I, /WV, /WU)
    /B Flash PEI volume
    Press a key to continue
    /FM Flash CPU Microcode
    /FV Flash Variable
    /FD Flash DXE
    /FE Flash EC
    /FL Flash logo
    /FP Flash password
    /FN Flash OEM NVS
    /FT:value Flash OEM special type
    /ALL Flash all
    /LF Load Fd file by another floopy disk
    /C Clear COMS
    /PS Flash SPI flash part
    /PN Flash non-SPI flash part
    /E:Offset(Hex), Size(Hex), Address(Hex)
    Update fix size from file offset to physical address
    /V Verify file integrity
    /RV Read variable
    /RB:Filename Read variable (To a binary file)
    /WV:String Write variable (ASCII)
    /WU:String Write variable (UNICODE)
    /WB:Filename Write variable (From a binary file)
    Press a key to continue
    /1 Save current BIOS to file (1Mbits from memory)
    /2 Save current BIOS to file (2Mbits from memory)
    /4 Save current BIOS to file (4Mbits from memory)
    /8 Save current BIOS to file (8Mbits from memory)
    /DI Disable ID display
    /UU:String Compare UUID with current BIOS
    /SE:String Compare serial number with current BIOS
    /GU:String Compare GUID with current BIOS
    /DC Disable comparsion in normal flash process
    /EC Flash EC (by applicaion)
    /EC:String Flash EC (by applicaion) and BIOS (by IHISI)
    /PR Query region MAP in current ROM
    /BIOS Flash BIOS region
    /GbE Flash GbE region
    /ME Flash ME region
    /Desc Flash DESC region
     
    andyasselin, Sep 30, 2008
    #18
  19. phatbb

    technogeekchris

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, im interested in this. how will i do it. Im kinda interested of removing the LOGO or changing the logo with another one. Has anybody done this. Can you show me how to do it. I will take the risk. Thanks...
     
    technogeekchris, Oct 16, 2008
    #19
  20. phatbb

    dirk

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looking at the options of flashit, it is indeed possible to chage the BIOS Boot logo. However, the fiel format of the image is unknown and guessing would be tedious. An error here may lead to a non-booting laptop but that could be fixed with the cold bios method, so it'd be recoverable, but slow.

    Does anyone know how to find the right image format?
     
    dirk, Oct 16, 2008
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.