Alternative to Aspire One Mail

Discussion in 'Linux' started by nmaad, Aug 19, 2008.

1. nmaad

nmaad

Hi,

I am looking for an alternative to the Aspire One Mail software. I have the 8Gb Linpus Linux Lite Aspire One and I want to sync with Microsoft Exchange Server.

I want to use the Aspire One when out of the office and ideally the email software would sync emails, calander and contacts with the office exchange.

I have looked at Thunderbird 2, but that does not support OWA. I am new to Linux, so would be very grateful for help on this.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks, Niall

nmaad, Aug 19, 2008
  2. nmaad

milesg

You could try "Evolution", which I think supports accessing Exchange using OWA.

http://www.gnome.org/projects/evolution/

You can install it from the Linpus package manager (add/remove programs on the right-click menu).

milesg, Aug 19, 2008
  3. nmaad

Donat

Hello,

same situation as above, and already used evolution on ubuntu. however the package manager would not install it on linpus because it detected a conflict between some existing xfce package and a gnome package that it was installing as a dependancy.

Code:
    Transaction Check Error:
      file /usr/share/desktop-directories/Internet.directory from install of gnome-menus-2.20.3-1.fc8 conflicts with file from package xfdesktop-acer-lp-1522.no_spot.mcs_patched
      file /usr/share/desktop-directories/Settings.directory from install of gnome-menus-2.20.3-1.fc8 conflicts with file from package xfdesktop-acer-lp-1522.no_spot.mcs_patched
    this aborts the install, any ideas?

Donat, Aug 20, 2008
  4. nmaad

Yimpster

i'm a linux n00b and bought this laptop yesterday.

i need to link up to an exchange account to access mail, calendar and contacts.

anyone had any success with this? i tried installing the evolution package but it failed also.

really stuck :(

Yimpster, Aug 22, 2008
  5. nmaad

nmaad

Hi,