Advice on laptop options (brand/model)...

Discussion in 'Which Laptop should I buy?' started by sona, Jan 11, 2018.

1. sona

sona

Hello, forum members,

This is my first post, and I apologize for any specifics I leave out of my query.

I have been spending the past month researching options for an appropriate laptop to replace my current Dell Inspiron 15R N5110. It isn't dying, and it has served me well. But my work as a publishing copy editor is now forcing me to carry a unit when I'm out--say, waiting 1.5 hours in a doctor's office--and it must have a screen larger than 10 to 13 inches, to make it easier on my eyes as I work on whatever assignment I have at the time.

I do no gaming and I'm not a graphics artist. I would need reliable access to the Internet for research and fact-checking, a good clear screen for the copy I'm editing, and enough memory for the few apps I need to put on it (certain dictionaries, etc., nothing major); however, since I don't want to have to go through this every four years, I'd like to make sure the unit has more than the memory I need now, so that I have plenty for future requirements. Speed is also a requirement.

The Inspiron I have now (which uses Windows 7) is simply too heavy/bulky for hours-long lugging (it has a DVD drive in it).

So I'm in search of a lighter (3 to 4 pounds) and more powerful replacement for travel use. I will have to get used to Windows 10, I realize, and I'm resigned to that.

I have compiled a list of my ideal laptop's specs, and I'm providing them below. I'm sure I've forgotten at least one or two items, so apologies for that!

I would very much appreciate suggestions from the experts on this forum. Thank you!

Configuration of my ideal laptop:

Weight: between 3 and 4 pounds, if possible
    Fanless, if possible--or reviews indicating no fan or coil whining constantly!

8th generation Intel i7, quad core