ADD/REMOVE Software Broken - Pirut to blame?

Discussion in 'Linux' started by lemmylemmy, Aug 4, 2008.

1. lemmylemmy

lemmylemmy

I already posted this elsewhere, but I think it got buried deep in a thread. I tried adding Skype the other day, though I'm a Linux newbie and clearly did something I shouldn't have, and now I get the error message I've copied below every time I go on to add/remove software. Pirut seems to be to blame (whatever that is!). I've installed the latest updates and have the right click menu working. I tried visiting Bugzilla, as suggested by the error message but couldn't figure out what I was supposed to do with the error report there.

Any help on solving this would really be appreciated!

An unhandled exception has occurred. This is most likely a bug. Please save the crash dump and file a detailed bug report against pirut at https://bugzilla.redhat.com/bugzilla

Component: pirut
    Summary: TB29ec97ad ini.py:563:readfp:UnboundLocalError: local variable 'line' referenced before assignment

Traceback (most recent call last):
    File "/usr/sbin/pirut", line 476, in <module>
    main()
    File "/usr/sbin/pirut", line 469, in main
    pm = PackageManager(options.config, options.onlyrepo)
    File "/usr/sbin/pirut", line 63, in __init__
    GraphicalYumBase.__init__(self, False, config)
    File "/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/pirut/__init__.py", line 129, in __init__
    plugin_types=(yum.plugins.TYPE_CORE,))
    File "/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/yum/__init__.py", line 113, in doConfigSetup
    errorlevel=errorlevel)
    File "/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/yum/__init__.py", line 164, in _getConfig
    self.getReposFromConfig()
    File "/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/yum/__init__.py", line 229, in getReposFromConfig
    parser.readfp(confpp_obj)
    File "/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/iniparse/compat.py", line 106, in readfp
    self.data.readfp(fp)