Acer One Netbook - Vodaphone Dongle Problems

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Nickbaker66, May 7, 2009.

1. Nickbaker66

Nickbaker66

I have just got the Acer ASPIRE one Netbook which only supports Linux, not windows. I have recently purchased the Vodafone K3760 dongle for mobile broadband but this does not work.

I am a nOOb to linux....windows no problems but i am stuck :evil: :evil:

i am finding this not very easy task as i am not used to the terminal windows etc..

Can anyone tell me how to install the drivers to be able to get the dongle working in an idiots guide pleaseeeeeee

I have been through the live update which installed the mobile symbol but i am still none the wiser

Many thanks in advance

Nick

Nickbaker66, May 7, 2009
  2. Nickbaker66

harvharv

hello Nick,

DId you get this problem sorted out as I have got the same issue and cannot resolve

any help wouldbe appreciated

cheers

harvharv, Jun 18, 2009
  3. Nickbaker66

nherriot

Hi Guys,

is this still an issue?

I'm from the betavine team. We have just built a variant of the Linux Mobile Connect driver which allows you to connect fairly easily with a range of dongles. We have not yet got support for the k3760 due to the HSO driver problem in the kernel for the Acer Aspire One. However I've tested with several Huawei devices and the MC950D.

Anyway an RPM repository is on our staging server at: http://staging.betavine.net/repo/repm/aaone

Once our test are complete we will anounce on the main page at http://www.betavine.net/bvportal/resources/datacards but it might help some people who are desperate for support now.

If anyone needs detailed instructions on how to add the betavine repository onto your package management system let me know.

Kind regards, Nicholas Herriot.

nherriot, Jun 25, 2009
  4. Nickbaker66

Andy Macpherson

Hi Nicholas,