Acer One Died after RAM Upgrade.. need advice

Discussion in 'Laptop Hardware' started by ains, Nov 9, 2008.

  1. ains

    ains

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I thought I'd throw in an extra 1gb RAM. I had the laptop a few days and it was fine.
    Installing the RAM went without a hitch.

    However, when I came to turn on my AAO, I get nothing. The battery light is green, the power light is green, but there is nothing on screen.
    I've made sure every connection is solid and that I haven't missed anything inside.

    I read about flashing the BIOS, but I'm not sure if I'm doing it correctly.

    Here's what I tried exactly:

    1) Format USB drive on my OTHER computer (this one) in WINDOWS to FAT32.
    2) Use UNetBootin with the option FreeDOS on my USB drive (in windows).
    3) Put the BIOS I downloaded after reading this on the USB drive.
    4) Stick USB drive in my Aspire, hold ESC + Fn while turning it on, then pressing the power button ONCE.

    Waiting .. zzz.

    Nothing seems to happen. I waited half an hour the first time and there was nothing, no reboot etc.
    Tried again.. same thing.

    Am I doing anything wrong? Have I damaged something?

    Any advice is greatly appreciated!!

    Thank you :)
     
    ains, Nov 9, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. ains

    achangho

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ains:

    Were you able to get your problem with the power on resolved? I have the same problem (push power button, light on button turns on, and battery ligth too, but thats it). My problem started after rebooting after uninstalling a driver. I had new hardware in but it all had been working just fine.

    If you have any adive on how to resolve, please share. Thanks!
     
    achangho, Jan 14, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. ains

    naeemsta

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    try again formatting the usb drive and do it again.
    you can always try variations lol.
    tell me if that doesnt work i will hmm search some solutions.
     
    naeemsta, Jan 16, 2009
    #3
  4. ains

    heckufaguy

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    As someone who's had this problem with other pc's, remove and inspect your new memory. See if it boots without it, if it does you may have not had it in correctly.
    Very common, even desktops do nothing if they ram is in wrong...
     
    heckufaguy, Jan 16, 2009
    #4
  5. ains

    techGuy

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Washington DC
    true. if memory is seated improperly it will fail to boot and or beep a couple of times.

    check to see if everything is seated correctly. also if it is.. it could be bad memory it happens alot.. i would put it through its paces with memtest
     
    techGuy, Jan 16, 2009
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.