Acer aspire one on Linux Recycle bin

Discussion in 'Linux' started by StanleyMorgan, Aug 18, 2009.

1. StanleyMorgan

StanleyMorgan

I got an acer aspire one as a gift. I am not good with computers, even the very basic stuff. I had used windows previously.
    I use my acer aspire one for browsing, checking emails , the general normal stuff. My question is, is there are a recylce bin on it or trash can, something? Where do things go when i delete them? My hard drive disc space used to be3.6 GB, it has shrunk to 3.2GB and i have not downloaded anything, just deleted a few things i got as attachments in my email.
    Kindly help me if possible. Thanks

StanleyMorgan, Aug 18, 2009
  2. StanleyMorgan

fweigel

Open "My Documents". Select "Go" from the menu, and then "Trash". The trash will show up. Then "File" "Empty Trash" will empty the trashcan.

fweigel, Aug 18, 2009
  3. StanleyMorgan

unclebob

I've tried fweigel's solution because I have the same problem. Unfortunately when I open trash from "go", the my documents window just closes without any reaction at all. Any other ideas how to empty the trash? Thanks.

unclebob, Aug 19, 2009
  4. StanleyMorgan

fweigel

Now THAT is weird. But there are more ways to skin a cat...

In the text bar at the upper centre-right (right side of the "button bar", whatever you call it) in the file manager, you can type direct locations. Enter "trash:///" (not the quotes, though), and enter. This should also access your trash.

If this doesn't work, perhaps your trash is damaged (missing). In a terminal, try

$ ls -al ~ | grep Trash
    drwx------ 2 user user 4096 2009-07-03 23:20 .Trash
    drwx------ 2 user user 4096 2008-11-02 18:05 .Trash-500

(the ~ is a tilde). You should see something like the output here. Post your results, or, if you are missing .Trash, create it: "mkdir ~/.Trash". Or not, because if you are missing the trash, it won't accumulate! (which may be a good thing).

fweigel, Aug 20, 2009
  5. StanleyMorgan