Acer Aspire One - First Impressions

Discussion in 'Linux' started by santos79, Oct 4, 2008.

1. santos79

santos79

Hi All,

I received my Aspire One yesterday and overall I like it but there is one thing that really bigs the hell out of me - the fan noise!

When I first started it up it was silent (for about 2 minutes) but then an incredibely nerve-racking fan noise became audible. Now I'm not a complete newbie to Linux, but it's been a few years since I've used it and I'm a little rustry wrt the command line.

Anway after trying to use the script to reduce fan noise I was stumped with trying to get the files needed to the location as is described in the script: Can anyone tell me how to access the usr/local via a graphical interface. This isn't a problem in Ubuntu, but Linpus apparently doesn't want you to get that close to the system. The directions on how to install the fan control inlcude downloading a file to the usr/local/ folder, but there's now way to direct the file to it. Also: Linpus didn't let me install the Nautilus file manager.

In the end I installed Windows XP. That's not what I wanted as I'm sick of it (that's why I bought the Acer and not the fanless Dell). But at least I was able to disable that POS fan with it.

santos79, Oct 4, 2008
  2. santos79

rbil

Have you considered replacing the AAO? I keep reading about people complaining about fan noise and mine is not annoying at all. Isn't this a hardware/manufacturing problem? Surely throwing software at the problem isn't the answer.

Had you left Linpus on your system and come here for help on how to do such trivial things as copying files to system directories, you would have gotten help immediately. No point in trying to educate you about Linux if you've got XP on it now, is there?

Cheers.

rbil, Oct 4, 2008
  3. santos79

santos79

Thanks for the quick reply.