Acer Aspire One AO751H-1948 (ZA3) unbox pics :)+mini review

Discussion in 'Acer Aspire One' started by runtohell121, Jun 21, 2009.

  1. runtohell121

    runtohell121

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here are my pictures that i took today unboxing my Acer Aspire One AO751H-1948 (Model Number: ZA3)
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    the back access part upgrade
    wifi card/pci-e slot
    [​IMG]
    RAM upgrade
    [​IMG]
    HDD
    [​IMG]

    My short first impression
    After removing all the crap softwares from it, such as microsoft office, some random pre installed games by acer, and mcafee anti virus, the system responded much more quicker than first boot with all the software. It takes about 40-50 seconds to boot (didn't really timed it, just an estimate). I was running it on battery, lasted more than 3 hours, at 33%, windows battery indicator still say i have more than 1 hour battery life left. The first time I booted it, it had 96% battery life, installed updates and set up took about 3 hours. The battery life on this is pretty great for a 3 cell battery, much more better than my Acer Aspire One AOA150-1570 (ZG5). The keyboard is very nice to type on, compared to my old AAO.


    edit: comparison between Acer Aspire One ZG5 and Acer Aspire One ZA3
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    runtohell121, Jun 21, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. runtohell121

    SiliconJunkie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for sharing!

    I note your CPU is not under-clocked, and appears to be running at 1.33GHz natively. Can you tell us what BIOS revision is on your netbook?
     
    SiliconJunkie, Jun 24, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. runtohell121

    runtohell121

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have no clue which BIOS version it actually is, I don't pay attention to the BIOS, the one I tested from Costco is the one I got, which was not underclocked.
     
    runtohell121, Jun 24, 2009
    #3
  4. runtohell121

    runtohell121

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, a few days ago, i went to fry's and i got a Kingston SSDNow V-series 64gb.
    here's a boot up video


    some benchmarks
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    runtohell121, Jul 20, 2009
    #4
  5. runtohell121

    TrackSmart

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Windows reports 1.33 GHz on my machine. But that's a false report. Right click on the desktop and go to display properties. This will bring up the Intel Graphics Driver utility. Now click on "Information". This is what you will see (below). Note that it is really running at 1240 MHz, despite Windows reporting 1.33 GHz. This has caused a lot of confusion and a lot of people to think they are actually running at 1.33 GHz. Most of them aren't. Just a few odd machines are actually clocked at the full 1.33 GHz speed.


    Intel(R) Graphics Media Accelerator Driver for ultra mobile Report


    Report Date: 07/22/2009
    Report Time[hr:mm:ss]: 13:30:54
    Driver Version: 7.14.10.1005
    Operating System: Windows Vista (TM) Home Basic* , Service Pack 2 (6.0.6002)
    Default Language: English
    DirectX* Version: 10.0
    Physical Memory: 2037 MB
    Minimum Graphics Memory: 64 MB
    Maximum Graphics Memory: 763 MB
    Graphics Memory in Use: 40 MB
    Processor: x86 Family 6 Model 28 Stepping 2
    Processor Speed: 1240 MHZ
    Vendor ID: 8086
    Device ID: 8108
    Device Revision: 07
     
    TrackSmart, Jul 22, 2009
    #5
  6. runtohell121

    donec

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    952
    Likes Received:
    0
    Curious, How do you know that it is the Windows report that is false and not the Intel Graphics driver utility that is in error?
     
    donec, Jul 22, 2009
    #6
  7. runtohell121

    TrackSmart

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    I verified this with other utilities. The 1.33 GHz is possibly part of Windows name for the processor. You can set the speed slower or faster (using SetFSB for instance) and windows will still report 1.33 GHz.
     
    TrackSmart, Jul 22, 2009
    #7
  8. runtohell121

    donec

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    952
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks TrackSmart.
     
    donec, Jul 23, 2009
    #8
  9. runtohell121

    Yuravi

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    nice thread. free bump!
     
    Yuravi, Dec 6, 2009
    #9
  10. runtohell121

    gsz

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wait how did you get the slim battery? Mine sticks out of the back and is huge.
     
    gsz, Dec 6, 2009
    #10
  11. runtohell121

    AdamElphick

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    The 3-cell batttery sits flush with the back - sounds like you have the larger capacity 6-Cell which lasts longer!
     
    AdamElphick, Dec 6, 2009
    #11
  12. runtohell121

    JamesDax

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello all. I just picked up one of these today at my local Shoprite supermarket for only $249. So far I really like it. I've deleted all the bloat, installed all the updates and so far haven't had any of the freezing problems others have reported. For the price I don't think I could've done better. :)
     
    JamesDax, Dec 10, 2009
    #12
  13. runtohell121

    TrackSmart

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nice deal! The only thing that beats these 11.6" netbooks are the dual-core CULV laptops that came out recently, but those cost double what you paid. I've had my Acer 751 for 7 months now and I've been extremely happy with it. The full-size keyboard and high resolution screen make this a portable productivity machine.
     
    TrackSmart, Dec 10, 2009
    #13
  14. runtohell121

    Eosblue

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Perhaps the best way to delete all the bloat is to do a "fresh" Win 7 install. I upgraded my HD to a 250GB for around $60 and then did a clean Win 7 install on it. The reason I went to a new HD was that I wanted to be able to go back to XP if Win 7 didn't pan out. For anyone interested in going my route, it was one of the easiest HD swaps I've ever done.

    Of course, to do this, you need a external DVD player or do one of the USB "stick" Win 7 installations. I just happened to have an external DVD player available. I doubt that I would have bought one specially for this. However, it has come in handy for installing Office and other programs as well. I picked it up on eBay for around $50 a couple of years ago and it does do service other computers that I have as well.
     
    Eosblue, Dec 10, 2009
    #14
  15. runtohell121

    JoeThePimpernel

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Acer Aspire One AO751H-1948 (ZA3) unbox pics :)+mini rev

    The slim battery is a 3-cell battery. The 6-cell battery sticks out a little. The 9-cell battery sticks out a lot.
     
    JoeThePimpernel, Dec 9, 2011
    #15
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.