About to get my first Aspire One, what should I know about ?

Discussion in 'Acer Aspire One' started by Dodge34, Oct 31, 2010.

1. Dodge34

Dodge34

I'M about to get my first netbook, now I saw a load of different models, are the basic models like the one at 229$ scrapware that can't even open youtube webpage or are they something reliable. I'm a computer tech support guy but never owned any netbooks and I wanted one for a long time, now I've decided it was the time for it, got extra cash on my hand, I've considered the D260 that is currently sold for 279$ (if I can find it in stores at Staples) they claim it has Atom N475, 1GB DDR and bluetooth, but the Acer product page tell me its probably bullshit, who we need to trust on this, I don't see difference of between Atom processors to me they all run at 1.6GHZ, is there any differences between N450, N475 and N455. My budget is around 325$ max with taxes included, I could go up to 350$ but not over it.

Things I want :

Good battery life, they claim 8hrs on the D260, what is the truth about this, honestly, if it can at least have 4-5hrs on it while using it intense (wifi, max brightness, videos on youtube with headphones plugged in) I'll be very happy.
    Able to play at least 720P video on youtube (not a deal breaker for me)
    Bluetooth (not a deal breaker but would love to sync my Samsung Impact with it instead of usb cable, known in USA as the Samsung Highlight, just renamed for Canada)
    Absolutely no SSD drive, they are not safe for long term data storage.

Dodge34, Oct 31, 2010
  2. Dodge34

Darryl

Re: About to get my first Aspire One, what should I know abo