AA1 linpus screen goes black, seizes up, power light on

Discussion in 'Laptop Hardware' started by Guest, Feb 19, 2009.

1. Guest

Guest Guest

I've been searching the forum for my problem and whilst i think i've found the answer (my machine is screwed right out of the factory), I'd just like to verify my problems....

Basically when using the battery only, the screen goes black without warning, even though the power light remains on. It's not in sleep or suspended, it won't wake no matter what. It kicks in at different points (sometimes 75% battery power, sometimes 61% etc) and the only way to solve the problem is to hold down the power and then reboot. It's incredibly annoying!

I've done the usual suggestion for the 8GB SSD linpus edition when there's battery problems, ie installing kpowersave update, deselecting all suspend options etc, though i'm wary about flashing the BIOS as this doesn't seem to remedy the problem in a lot of cases. Also, I've never used linux/linpus before in my life (OS X user) and i have to say it seems extraordinarily complicated to do even the most basic installation if you're not used to entering code.

One other thing I've noticed about my AA1 is that the battery light never goes on when it runs on the battery, and it's orange when it runs off the mains - is this normal? I've not done the fan update but would this remedy the problem - is the computer shorting out for some reason?

Another thing i was wondering was is it worth installing the KDE or GNOME desktop environments? And finally (!) if i run the software updater i get a bunch of packages available but have no idea what they are, so when i say install, the AA1 can't resolve dependencies and says: 'notification-daemon-xfce conflicts with notification-daemon' - what is this?

Many thanks in advance for any help - this would be a great little machine if the battery worked!

Guest, Feb 19, 2009
  2. Guest

ronime