1.8" HDD?

Discussion in 'Laptop Hardware' started by lotus49, Jun 29, 2008.

  1. lotus49

    lotus49

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Does anyone know what the HDD form factor is? I guess it's a 1.8" one but I'd be interested to know if anyone can confirm this.

    I am unsure which version to buy. I want 1GB RAM but I would prefer an SSD and if the RAM is soldered in it may be easier to get the 1GB/80GB version and replace the HDD with an SSD.
     
    lotus49, Jun 29, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. lotus49

    B3n3v3nt3

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lisboa, Portugal
    It's 2.5'', but the hdd is soldered so...it sucks.
     
    B3n3v3nt3, Jun 30, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. lotus49

    Baza

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Soldered? whats the idea of that?
     
    Baza, Jun 30, 2008
    #3
  4. lotus49

    KiNG

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    hmm not the smartist move there :roll: althou saying that 80gb is loads for this kinda laptop, but would like the option still acer...
    were did u see this ?
    any idea of specs of the HD ? is it 4200rpm or 5400rpm, prob sata ?
     
    KiNG, Jun 30, 2008
    #4
  5. lotus49

    glibdud

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you sure you're not just thinking of the SSD model? I have a hard time believing they'd solder a hard drive on... seems extremely unconventional and pointless. Not to mention a bad idea since that's one of the biggest failure points on a laptop.
     
    glibdud, Jul 1, 2008
    #5
  6. lotus49

    B3n3v3nt3

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lisboa, Portugal
    B3n3v3nt3, Jul 1, 2008
    #6
  7. lotus49

    lotus49

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    So those of us who prefer the SSD option are likely to find a bit of free space inside our One then. A 2.5" drive takes up a fair bit of room for a small machine like the One.

    I have followed the many interesting hardware mods carried out on the eee and the option to add in say a bluetooth adapter and/or GPS receiver would be interesting and given a bit of internal space should be perfectly practical.
     
    lotus49, Jul 2, 2008
    #7
  8. lotus49

    B3n3v3nt3

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lisboa, Portugal
    [​IMG]

    1. The default memory is soldered, 512MB irremovableā€¦
    2. The map Wifi 802.11b / g is removable.
    3. The Express Chipset Intel 945GSE.
    4. The SIM chip reader.
    5. The probable location of the HDD hard drive versions of One.
    6. The 8GB storage SSD soldered to the motherboard.
     
    B3n3v3nt3, Jul 2, 2008
    #8
  9. lotus49

    lotus49

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Thanks for posting this picture.

    It's a little hard to tell as the picture has been enlarged, but I couldn't see a spare SO-DIMM socket in there.

    Do you know what the SIM reader is for? I would have thought that mini-PCI HS[DU]PA modems would have their own.
     
    lotus49, Jul 2, 2008
    #9
  10. lotus49

    glibdud

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    That looks like a screen cap from that Italian video. There isn't a SO-DIMM slot on top of the mainboard, but they never bothered to look at the bottom, so presumably it's down there.
     
    glibdud, Jul 3, 2008
    #10
  11. lotus49

    ricardo

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, on the video they only said the RAM slot is unreachable...
     
    ricardo, Jul 3, 2008
    #11
  12. lotus49

    lotus49

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    On reflection, it was a bit of a daft question. If the slot were on the top of the motherboard you would have to take the machine apart to install the memory.
     
    lotus49, Jul 3, 2008
    #12
  13. lotus49

    rscutaru

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    The hard drive cable is a ZIF connector and I do belive it will take any 1.8" drive, such as MK8009GAH toshiba 80GB, also used in ipods and other small devices, there is a 1.8zif connector to 2.5" drive adapter on ebay. The 8GB SSD is god awful slow. I have ordered a 40GB zif drive 1.8, I will take out the SSD and put that in. Can't wait!
     
    rscutaru, Jul 10, 2008
    #13
  14. lotus49

    glibdud

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    The SSD is removable?
     
    glibdud, Jul 10, 2008
    #14
  15. lotus49

    rscutaru

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    There is a ribbon connected to it, and the flash driver itself, more like a pcb board with a flash chip on it is screwed onto the base of the laptop. So ya I would say it is removable. And if not, the dremel will do the trick. I cant' stand how slow the SSD is so I'm removing it one way or another :mrgreen:
     
    rscutaru, Jul 10, 2008
    #15
  16. lotus49

    grabejud

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    so this is the holy grail in speeding up the one. its like the ssd helds it back. man, why did they put a slow thing on this lovely package..
     
    grabejud, Jul 14, 2008
    #16
  17. lotus49

    rscutaru

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    I don't know I would've paid even 20-50 dollars extra for a proper SSD.
     
    rscutaru, Jul 14, 2008
    #17
  18. lotus49

    elpresidente

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    So has anyone done this swap yet? I'm looking to swap in a 60Gb 1.8 myself when i upgrade the RAM. I just want to know exactly what I need to buy before I open it up.
     
    elpresidente, Jul 16, 2008
    #18
  19. lotus49

    Le Tigre

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    1,8 hard disk / ssd with zif connector

    for instance:
    http://www.vlp.com/index.php?main_page= ... ts_id=1305

    IDE - p-ATA 100

    the rest should work :)

    have you read the zif-to cf mod in this forum? i dont know how aware you are of the pricing of these devices, but that mod
    seems mor promissing :)

    (Edit: and dont forget, that you need a zif cable)
     
    Le Tigre, Jul 19, 2008
    #19
  20. lotus49

    grabejud

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    finally managed to take apart my apsire
    now will go check out for a zif hdd. 40 to 60gb will do. i think the zif cable that goes with the default ssd can be used
    so all in all, need to removed around 23 screws to get that slow bastard off.
     
    grabejud, Jul 19, 2008
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.