What Do I Need ?

Discussion in 'Which Laptop should I buy?' started by ponyakr, Jan 27, 2016.

1. ponyakr

ponyakr

Howdy ya'll ! I'm a newbie, and still a real computer dummy. So, please don't bombard me with fancy computer language and the latest this and that.

I have very simple laptop needs. So, I wanna buy a very cheap laptop, that will meet my needs, without paying for a bunch of stuff I will never ever use.

I'll start by describing what I have:

Old HP 6735s

Processor: AMD Turion(tm)X2 Dual Core Mobile RM-70 2.00 GHz

Memory(RAM) 2.00GB

System Type: 32-bit Operating System

Disc Storage: 1.39GB

Operating System: Windows Home Vista

I've used this one for over 6 years. It has been adequate for my needs. The problems I've had with this model, which I like to avoid with a new one are: (1) Slow start-up, & (2) frequent freeze-ups, for a minute or more on many sites.

Here's how I use my laptop:

(1) Googling/surfing for info and sites.

(2) Posting texts and pics in car forums.

(3) Downloading pics from the net, then cropping and re-sizing them for posting on forums.

(4) 2 Email accounts, very few sent.

(5) Photo Bucket pics--seldom use.

(6) Facebook page--seldom post.

(7) Watch an occasional music video.

Things I never do:

(1) Never watch movies.

(2) Never play any games.

(3) Never download any apps. Whatever came on my 6735s is plenty for what I do.

(4) Never do any Photoshop.

So, from what I have, it seems to me that 2gb of ram is plenty, for what I do. And a 250GB hard drive, looks like it will more than meet my needs. If I'm wrong, please explain why.