I need help in choosing a new laptop (NEWBIE)

Discussion in 'Which Laptop should I buy?' started by waterboy21, Jun 2, 2014.

1. waterboy21

waterboy21

Hello All,
    Let me first start out by saying I am computer illiterate and need some advice. I am currently looking for a new laptop and need some help in that regard. I currently use a very old HP (kind of a 10 pound box of a computer) and although it still works great, I spend way to much time on the computer and need to upgrade. I am a chemistry student and will be attending graduate school soon. I spend the majority of my time on the computer either writing reports or running data analysis, which is usually done on Excel (gotta love that Excel). I am looking for a computer that can handle a lot of use, has a powerful hard drive ( I want the i7), long battery life, easily portable and can handle a lot of applications and what-not. Say for instance I need to download chem-draw, a chemists tool for drawing structures. I like what I have been reading about the SSD, and I noticed that I never come close to the amount of storage a computer can hold (typical downfall due to the fact that SSD's dont come with that much storage), so the fact that these arent made in the 500GB storage yet doesn't matter much to me and might be a good fit. My price point is anything below the 15.4' MAC, which I really like but I'm not sure it is the best computer for a student who will constantly be using it for things other than searching the web (any opinions on the MAC for serious computer people?). So anything below 2000$. I like the ASUS and HP's as well but I know nothing about them. I bought a Toshiba a year ago as a solution to my problem and it is a giant piece of S***. Side note- I hate windows 8, hate touch screens, really hate the tablet/laptop thingy. I noticed that some computers, even expensive ones, come with windows 7, is there a disadvantage to this? Will windows phase this old system out? I would love to have that sys