Do laptops these days have fans?

Discussion in 'Laptop General Discussion' started by korusa, Jan 18, 2016.

1. korusa

korusa

I want to buy a laptop but have had bad experiences with previous ones where the fans broke and the computer would shut down from overheating. I'm not tech savvy so I have no idea how to replace a fan and wouldn't want to spend a lot of money to have it serviced (places like Geek Squad charge an arm and a leg).

So my question is, do laptops these days have fans? Laptops these days seem to be much thinner and I'm wondering if they are like tablets where a fan is not needed. If they do still have fans, I would rather buy a desktop PC.

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,
    Korusa

korusa, Jan 18, 2016
  2. korusa

Sefie

I think most laptops have fans, but some of them are so modern that you can barely hear them make noise. Mine is like that, it's super thin and the fans are not audible at all :)

Sefie, Jan 18, 2016
  3. korusa

Ian Administrator

Many laptops do have fans, but there are a handful that don't (they tend to be quite expensive though). As long as you keep the laptop clean, you shouldn't have problems with the fans - I've had many over the years and it has been very rare to have a fan problem. I've serviced a few that just needed a good vacuum of the exhaust ports!

Ian, Jan 18, 2016
    IcyBC likes this.
  4. korusa

IcyBC

My previous two HP laptop had these overheating problem too. I won't take it to Geek Squad because they charged you your savings :) Find a local repair shop with great reputation, or read the reviews, and call them for an estimate of the cost before you take it in.

Sometimes, using the air-compressed spray can help cleaning out the dirt/dust.

IcyBC, Jan 19, 2016
  5. korusa

djtech

Most have fans. Some have other cooling mechanisms in addition to fans or without fans. For example, macs have a brilliant cooling system in place that apple has patented.

djtech, Jan 25, 2016
  6. korusa