Common problems with HP laptops?

Discussion in 'HP / Compaq' started by Lun, Jun 21, 2015.

1. Lun

Lun

I heard a lot of these while asking for feedback on certain laptops, it seemed to me that HP is the most criticized one, mostly due to the overheating of their laptops that sometimes cause damage to other components. I recently got an HP but I returned it today as the display wasn't working properly. Is this heating issue that spread in HP laptops? Should I be more wary of them?

Also what other problems is HP known for? Just for reference.

Lun, Jun 21, 2015
  2. Lun

Connie858

I have worked extensively with laptops (I worked in a school and every kid had a laptop, so did every member of staff and I was the support technician/engineer).
    I haven't really seen any more issues in HP than any others. To be honest, I though HP was one of the better ones. I have had a few students have problems with HP ones, I have had many many more students have issues (hardware issues) with Acer ones than any others. I have seen issues with Sony ones and IBM/Thinkpad as well. I could probably name a few other makes as well, but Acer tops the list, not HP.

Connie858, Jun 21, 2015
  3. Lun

Lun

That's interesting. Maybe their products work better in certain environments than others? Maybe the overheating happens because I live in a 45 degrees environment... or something. Every time I ask for recommendations (from people who live here) I'm always told to avoid HP. I always ignored their advice until I got that laptop, but then it turned out damaged and I returned it, so I'm becoming more trusting of such floating rumors, because they usually have some basis. On the other hand, Lenovo topped the list of most praised brand over here. And I personally had a great experience with a laptop of theirs that I bought for $800 a few years back, it was perfect for gaming with a 1080p display and the capabilities to run latest games on very high settings, but... it got stolen. (stupid me)