Acer Aspire One RAM upgrade

Discussion in 'Laptop Hardware' started by ricardo, Jul 3, 2008.

1. ricardo

ricardo

I was considering buying the A110L version (with 8GB SSD) and upgrading it's RAM and battery in the future, but according to the italian video showing the dissected Aspire One, the free memory slot is actually unreachable. Since I'm not really an expert in notebooks, does anyone know how difficult it should be to add 1GB extra RAM?

ricardo, Jul 3, 2008
  2. ricardo

lotus49

Re: Ram upgrade

If, as we all hope and expect, there is a free slot it strikes me as very unlikely that you would have to take the machine apart to any great extent. Unfortunately, until they start shipping (which should be very soon) we cannot know for sure.

I think it is fair to say that amongst the small but growing community here, most are intending to upgrade their RAM, I know I am.

In short, it should be easy but until we actually get our machines, we cannot be absolutely sure.

lotus49, Jul 3, 2008
  3. ricardo

glibdud

Some more info just popped up this morning:

http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum-replies.cfm?t=988074&r=15921508#r15921508

"The RAM is not easily user-upgradeable. There's no little hatch on the chassis' underside to make the memory slot accessible (there is a door but that's for dropping a SIM card into the forthcoming 3G HSDPA module, due Q4). So buyers of the Linux model would either have to open the unit to add memory, or send it back to Acer to pay for a memory upgrade. Acer couldn't specify the price of the memory upgrade, nor if the very act of opening the chassis would void the warranty."

There's also some very interesting information in there about the battery.

glibdud, Jul 3, 2008
  4. ricardo

ricardo

Thanks for the answers,